Finding Journal Articles on your Reading List
Type in the title of the journal rather than title of the article and click Find:
From results page:
- Look for your journal title & the ejournal button
- Click on "Click here to view the holdings of this eJournal" link
- This will take you to Birkbeck's Full Text Electronic Resources page: the eLibrary
- Select the link that falls within the date range of the journal volume/issue
- Log into the journal with your Birkbeck Username & Password (same log in details for Moodle)
Finding Journal Articles on a Topic
Login with your Birkbeck Username & Password & then search by keyword
Use one of the databases listed below for articles not availble on Discover
Databases & eResources
- Subject Specific
- Film & Video Resources
- Theses & Conference Proceedings
- Table of Contents
- Open Access & Free Web Resources
- Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) - the main database that supports scholarship in language and linguistics. Only the abstract & citation details of articles are available to read on LLBA. Full-text articles may be linked to via other Birkbeck resources. Restrict your search results to peer-reviewed & scholarly journals. Check LLBA online guide for more details on how to search for articles. Articles not available in full text can be ordered via interlibrary loan. Subject coverage includes:
- Applied Linguistics
- Interpersonal Behavior and Communication
- Learning Disabilities
- ABI/INFORM Global - primarily a business research database that searches across the full-text of 2,400 business journals including Journal of Language for International Business. Useful for finding articles on intercultural communication. Full-text articles available to download in PDF.
- Business Source Premier - full text access to peer reviewed articles from journals like Journal of Language & Social Psychology. Useful for articles on intercultural communication in a business context. A 12 to 18 month embargo exists on the most recently published articles. Articles not available in full text can be ordered via interlibrary loan.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) - read journal article abstracts from 2,800 currently published journals in the social sciences. May be able to link to full-text via Birkbeck eLibrary holdings. Articles not supplied by Birkbeck can be ordered via interlibrary loan.
- MLA International Bibliography - a subject index of scholarly books & articles compiled by the Modern Language Association of America. Subject coverage focusses on modern languages, literatures, folklore & linguistics. May be possible to link to full-text articles.
- Nexis UK - full text access to UK & international newspapers & trade press. Especially useful for tracing use of a particular word or phrase in mainstream print media .
- PsycARTICLES - specifically covers peer-reviewed scholarly & scientific full-text articles in psychology. Contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Useful for articles in cognitive linguistics, neurolinguistics, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics & pragmatics.
- PsycINFO - the American Psychological Association’s (APA) database of abstracts from scholarly journals devoted to peer-reviewed articles in behavioural science & mental health. Contains over 3 million records & summaries, of which only abstracts are available to read. Articles not linked through to other Birkbeck e-holdings can be ordered via interlibrary loan.
- Science Citation Index (Web of Science) - allows you to search for how an author/s or paper has been cited in later published articles. Can also read the abstracts of articles from over 6,650 journals, (from 1994 to present). Articles not linked to through Birkbeck holdings can be ordered through interlibrary loans.
- ScienceDirect - full text access to 2,000 journals published by Elsevier including Brain & language, Cognition, Lingua & Linguistics & education. Most articles available to download as full-text PDF's & often are from current issues.
- Web of Science - searchable collection of all Web of Science databases including the Science & Social Science Citation Indexes.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) - part of the Web of Science group of databases, allows you to search for how an author/s article/book has been cited in later published articles. Can also read the abstracts of articles from articles in over 1,900 journals from 1970 onwards.
- Academic Search Complete - search by keyword or subject heading across the full-text of more than 8,500 journal titles. A 12 to 18 month embargo exists on the most recently published articles, (e.g. articles published in January 2016 will appear on Academic Search Complete in January 2017). Articles not available to read on Academic Search Complete can be ordered via interlibrary loan.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals. Access full-text articles from up to 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, & social sciences. Good for reading articles not found on commercial databases.
- IngentaConnect - read abstracts & some full text journal article in the subjects of anthropology, sociology, & other social sciences. Restrict your search to "Subscriptions only & free content" to retrieve full text articles from over 250 journal titles.
- JSTOR - huge online journal archive providing the full text of journal articles from over 2,000 titles. Journal coverage runs from initial publication date to a period of between three & five years ago. Especially useful for historic information.
- Periodicals Index/Archive Online - large online archive of back-files of scholarly journal titles in the arts, humanities & social sciences. Provides searchable full text access to journals from their origins up to 1995.
- Project Muse - online collection of journals focussed on digital humanities & social sciences. Covers recent issues of over 400 journals including European journal of language policy.
- Scopus - largest abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books & conference proceedings. Provides a comprehensive overview of the world's research output, (past & present), in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, & arts & humanities. Articles located on Scopus can be ordered as interlibrary loans.
- BFI Inview - 2,000 non-fiction British film & television titles from the 20th to the early 21st century. Collections include television documentaries, government & industry produced films on a range of subjects including education & immigration in the UK.
- BoB National (Box of Broadcasts National) - provides staff & students online access to television & radio programmes recorded by all BoB members, allowing users to record programmes in advance, from more than 50 television & radio channels. Programmes can be edited & linked to Moodle. Searchable transcripts of some programmes are available as well as easily created citation details for television & radio programmes.
- BUFVC [British Universities Film & Video Council] - single access point for nine of the BUFVC online databases relating to film, television & radio content. Useful for recordings of university lectures & conferences on a variety of subjects.
- Kanopy - watch online feature films & documentary collections covering the subjects of subjects of global studies & languages, ESL, anthropology, education & psychology. All films come with unlimited, simultaneous usage, public performance rights & can be easily edited into shorter clips for embedding in Moodle.
- MediaPlus - collection of film & video covering various subjects including the social sciences, (2,400 films). Films are available for download, either in full or as segments & can be used freely. Includes access to NewsFilm Online.
- EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service) - British Library e-theses service that provides full-text access to digitized final versions of doctoral theses from UK Higher Education Institutions. Anyone can use the resource but will need to register specifically for EThOS to order theses.
- ORBIT - Online Repository of Birkbeck Institutional Theses - read or download the full-text of PhD theses from former Birkbeck research students.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland - provides bibliographic references to all theses published by British and Irish universities, with coverage dating back to 1716. An enhanced full-text linking service from Index to Theses provides links to some 50,000 full text theses available online for free downloads from university repositories as well as the EThOS site.
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Web of Science) - contains the most significant conferences and seminars since 1990 in Science and Social Sciences & Humanities.
- JournalTOCs - large free collection of scholarly journal tables of contents (TOCs). Allows you to set u email alerts of newly published journal issues & their table of contents, allowing you to stay ahead of recent research.
- Zetoc - search the tables of contents of many journals & conference papers held in the British Library including those in earth sciences & geography.
- BIROn - Birkbeck Institutional Research Online-is an open access digital archive of Birkbeck researchers' published research.
- Directory of Open Access Repositories - OpenDOAR - open access repositories of thousands of universities worldwide. Many of these contain full text working papers alongside references to other journal articles, theses and reports. Full text is often available where copyright allows. Particularly useful for tracing references to research from developing nations.
- OAIster - a union catalogue of multi-disciplinary digital resources & open access materials (available in full for free). Can filter search results to downloadable material, (including ebooks, articles, conference proceedings etc.).
Free Web Resources
- Google Books - search for keywords or references in the text of thousands of books. Possible to read the full text of a book if it is out of copyright. Birkbeck’s library catalogue links to the Google Books preview.
- Google Scholar - covers content from scholarly research, academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories and universities but offers very limited control over your search results. Sometimes gives you access to the full text if it is freely available, (be careful – they may not be the final published versions), & also occasionally links to Birkbeck holdings. For a Google like search of Birkbeck's e-resources use the Discover (Articles & more) search bar on the library catalogue.
- Internet Archive - free multi-disciplinary online digital library. Can search across multiple media formats, (books, journal articles, videos, websites etc.). Especially useful for full-text of older editions of ebooks. Includes the Wayback Machine, an archive of over a billion webpages.
020 7631 6062