Finding Journal Articles on your Reading List
Type in the title of the journal rather than title of the article and click Find:
From results page:
- Look for your journal title & the ejournal button
- Click on "Click here to view the holdings of this eJournal" link
- This will take you to Birkbeck's Full Text Electronic Resources page: the eLibrary
- Select the link that falls within the date range of the journal volume/issue
- Log into the journal with your Birkbeck Username & Password (same log in details for Moodle)
Finding Journal Articles on a Topic
Click the Discover button to find articles, chapters, abstracts, & more
Use your Birkbeck Username & Password to log in & then search by keyword
Databases & eResources
- Subject Specific
- Cartographic & Statistical Data
- Film & Video Resources
- Theses & Conference Proceedings
- Table of Contents
- Open Access & Free Web Resources
- Science Citation Index (Web of Science) - allows you to search for how an author/s or paper has been cited in later published articles. Can also read the abstracts of articles from over 6,650 journals, (from 1994 to present). Subject coverage of journals indexed include: biodiversity conservation, climatology, meteorology & atmospheric sciences, geographic information systems & remote sensing. Articles, not linked through Birkbeck holdings can be ordered through interlibrary loans.
- ScienceDirect - full text access to 2,000 journals published by Elsevier including titles like Journal of Environmental Management. Database subject coverage includes: climatology, earth sciences, environmental sciences & geography. Articles available to download as full-text PDF's & often are from current issues.
- Web of Science - searchable collection of all Web of Science databases including the Science & Social Science Citation Indexes.
Environment & Sustainability
- ABI/INFORM Global - primarily a business research database that searches across the full-text of 2,400 business journals like Environment, development & sustainability & Climatic Change. Useful for finding full-text articles on environmental management, conservation & environmental protection, sustainable development, tourism & ecotourism. Full-text articles available to download in PDF.
- Business Source Premier - full text access to peer reviewed articles from journals like Business & the Environment with ISO 14000 Updates. Subject coverage includes development studies, environmental management & economics, sustainability, planning & regional economics. Also includes individual country profiles with political & economic information. A 12 to 18 month embargo exists on the most recently published articles. Articles not available in full text can be ordered via interlibrary loan.
- GreenFILE - indexing & abstracts for articles covering all aspects of human impact on the environment of individuals, corporations & local & national governments, & what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
- Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) - read & keyword search online the full text of reports produced by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change including the Working Group Assessment reports.
Development Studies & Anthropology
- Agricola (AGRICultural OnLine Access) - National Agricultural Library catalogue of 5, 2000,000 records maintained by the United States Department of Agriculture. It indexes globally published literature on all aspects of agriculture & related disciplines including natural resources, earth & environmental sciences, food security & rural & community development. Only journal article abstracts available to read via this database.
- ELDIS - a database of documents on international development. Hosted by the Institute of Development Studies, it aims to share the best knowledge on development, policy, practice & research. Browse country-specific information on a range of topics including, (but not limited to): agriculture & food, climate change, conflict & security, gender, global health & governance. Full-text available for most documents & content can be accessed through both the IDS Knowledge Services Open API & the OKHub.org platform.
- LIDC (London International Development Centre) - website of LIDC, the interdisciplinary research group based across the Bloomsbury University of London Colleges, ( Birkbeck, UCL Institute of Education, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, Royal Veterinary College, & SOAS). Lists resources produced by LIDC including publications, podcast & videos.
Community Development & Public Policy
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers - includes debates, proceedings & reports of their committees & outside bodies on public affairs from c. from 1715 to the 2003/04 session of Parliament. Searchable full text, along with a detailed subject indexing.
- Nexis UK - full text access to UK & international newspapers & trade press. Also includes economic & political profiles for countries. Especially useful for tracing use in mainstream print of media of a particular word or phrase. Includes current access to Third Sector
Social Sciences & Sociology
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) - read journal article abstracts from 2,800 currently published journals in the social sciences, (anthropology, public policy, sociology & human geography & environment). May be able to link to full-text via Birkbeck eLibrary holdings. Articles not supplied by Birkbeck can be ordered via interlibrary loan.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) - part of the Web of Science group of databases, allows you to search for how an author/s article/book has been cited in later published articles. Can also read the abstracts of articles from articles in over 1,900 journals from 1970 onwards. Subject coverage includes: anthropology, area studies, cartography, demography, development studies, economic geography, environmental studies, human geography, planning & development, political geography & urban studies.
- Social Science Research Network - repository of scholarly articles that can be uploaded & downloaded by anyone. Owned by Elsevier, it aims to rapidly share early versions, (mostly pre-print) of scholarly articles in the social sciences. Useful for an overview of current research trends rather than peer-reviewed content.
- Academic Search Complete - search by keyword or subject heading across the full-text of more than 8,500 journal titles including titles such as Transactions - Institute of British Geographers & Transactions in GIS. Subject coverage includes (but not limited to): anthropology, earth & environmental sciences, geography, GIS & sociology. A 12 to 18 month embargo exists on the most recently published articles, (e.g. articles published in January 2016 will appear on Academic Search Complete in January 2017). Articles not available to read on Academic Search Complete can be ordered via interlibrary loan.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals. Access full-text articles from up to 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, & social sciences. Good for reading articles not found on commercial databases.
- IngentaConnect - read abstracts & some full text journal article in the subjects of agriculture, anthropology, sociology, urban studies, earth & environmental sciences & other social sciences. Restrict your search to "Subscriptions only & free content" to retrieve full text articles from over 250 journal titles including Housing, theory, & society.
- JSTOR - huge online journal archive providing the full text of journal articles from over 2,000 titles. Journal coverage runs from initial publication date to a period of between three & five years ago. Covers anthropology, area studies, ecology, geography, population studies, public policy & sociology. Especially useful for historic information.
- Periodicals Index/Archive Online - large online archive of back-files of scholarly journal titles in the arts, humanities & social sciences. Provides searchable full text access to journals from their origins up to 1995. Covers 37 key subject areas including agriculture, anthropology/ethnology, area studies, (Africa, Asia, Australasia, Europe, & Middle East), black studies & sociology.
- Project Muse - online collection of journals focussed on digital humanities & social sciences. Covers recent issues of over 400 journals in African studies, American studies, Asian studies, economics, education, Latin American studies, politics, religion, sociology & women's studies.
- Scopus - largest abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books & conference proceedings. Provides a comprehensive overview of the world's research output, (past & present) in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, & arts & humanities. Articles located on Scopus can be ordered as interlibrary loans.
- Digimap - Birkbeck has access to two data sets in Digimap: the Ordnance Survey Collection & Historic Digimap. The Ordnance Survey Collection offers access to contemporary Ordnance Survey maps & map data for the whole of Great Britain, (select ROAM to view, annotate & print maps). Historic Digimap provides access to historical Ordnance Survey maps from 1843 to 1996. Data can also be downloaded for use with GIS & CAD software.
- London DataStore - access free open data from 500 datasets relating to all aspects of London including communities, demographics, environment, housing, young people & London 2012. Also includes borough specific data.
- UK Data Service (UKDS) - funded by the Economic & Social Research Council (ESRC) , it collects datasets from the major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate, business data, & qualitative data. It provides access to a wide range of key economic & social data, focussing broadly on the areas of housing & the local environment, labour market, crime & social control & health & health behaviour. Data can be downloaded in tables & graphs & also exported to Excel. See full list of datasets available.
- BFI Inview - 2,000 non-fiction British film & television titles from the 20th to the early 21st century. Collections include television documentaries, government & industry produced films on a range of subjects including environment, (energy, housing pollution, sustainability & conservation) & immigration, race & equality in the UK.
- BoB National (Box of Broadcasts National) - provides staff & students online access to television & radio programmes recorded by all BoB members, allowing users to record programmes in advance, from more than 50 television & radio channels. Programmes can be edited & linked to Moodle. Searchable transcripts of some programmes are available as well as easily created citation details for television & radio programmes.
- BUFVC [British Universities Film & Video Council] - single access point for nine of the BUFVC online databases relating to film, television & radio content. Useful for recordings of university lectures & conferences on a variety of subjects.
- Kanopy - watch online feature films & documentary collections covering the subjects of environmental sciences, geography, agriculture, sociology, anthropology, indigenous studies, Latin American studies & race & class studies. All films come with unlimited, simultaneous usage, public performance rights & can be easily edited into shorter clips for embedding in Moodle.
- MediaPlus - collection of film & video covering various subjects including the social sciences, (2,400 films). Films are available for download, either in full or as segments, & can be used freely. Includes access to NewsFilm Online.
- EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service) - British Library e-theses service that provides full-text access to digitised final versions of doctoral theses from UK Higher Education Institutions. Anyone can use the resource but will need to register specifically for EThOS to order theses.
- ORBIT - Online Repository of Birkbeck Institutional Theses- read or download the full-text of PhD theses from fomer Birkbec research students.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland - provides bibliographic references to all theses published by British and Irish universities, with coverage dating back to 1716. An enhanced full-text linking service from Index to Theses provides links to some 50,000 full text theses available online for free downloads from university repositories as well as the EThOS site.
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (Web of Science) - contains the most significant conferences and seminars since 1990 in Science and Social Sciences & Humanities.
- JournalTOCs - large free collection of scholarly journal tables of contents (TOCs). Allows you to set u email alerts of newly published journal issues & their table of contents, allowing you to stay ahead of recent research.
- Zetoc - search the tables of contents of many journals & conference papers held in the British Library including those in earth sciences & geography.
- BIROn - Birkbeck Institutional Research Online-is an open access digital archive of Birkbeck researchers' published research.
- Directory of Open Access Repositories - OpenDOAR - open access repositories of thousands of universities worldwide. Many of these contain full text working papers alongside references to other journal articles, theses and reports. Full text is often available where copyright allows. Particularly useful for tracing references to research from developing nations.
- OAIster - a union catalogue of multi-disciplinary digital resources & open access materials (available in full for free). Can filter search results to downloadable material, (including ebooks, articles, conference proceedings etc.).
Free Web Resources
- Google Books - search for keywords or references in the text of thousands of books.Possible to read the full text of a book if it is out of the copyright. Birkbeck’s library catalogue links to the Google Books preview.
- Google Scholar - covers content from scholarly research, academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories and universities but offers very limited control over your search results. Sometimes gives you access to the full text if it is freely available, (be careful – they may not be the final published versions), & also occasionally links to Birkbeck Holdings. For a Google like search of Birkbeck's eresources use the Discover (Articles & more) search bar on the library catalogue.
- Internet Archive - free multi-disciplinary online digital library. Can search across multiple media formats, (books, journal articles, videos, websites etc.). Especially useful for full-text of older editions of ebooks. Includes the Wayback Machine, an archive of over a billion webpages.
020 7631 6062